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Lesson 1 and 2 Update

Tips for Stayman, transfers and
alerting



Simple Stayman - Alerting

Basic Rules of Simple Stayman

You open 1NT and your partner bids 2C (Simple
Stayman). You DO NOT alert this.

You then bid 2D (no 4 card major). Your partner
DOES NOT alert this.

WHY NOT?

In New Zealand 2C Simple Stayman and 2D
response are deemed to be self alerting



Simple Stayman - Alerting

However

Opposition opened a suit and you bid 21NT
(showing 15-17 points and stop in opener’s suit).
Your partner bids 2C (Stayman), you MUST
alerted this.

You open 2NT and your partner bids 3C
(Stayman). You MUST alert this.

WHY?

These are not deemed to be self-alerting



Transfers - Alerting

Basic Rules of Simple Transfers

You open 1NT and your partner bids 2D (transfer to
hearts). You MUST alert this.

You then bid 2H (doing what you are told). Your
partner MUST alert this.

WHY alert the 2H if the 2D has already been alerted
(and even maybe explained)?

You may only have two hearts and you are only

responding to your partner’s transfer. Your bid has
nothing to do with hearts.



Transfers —- Huh?

| notice others in the club do not a
It is technically correct to alert the 2H

ert the 2H
but it does

seem to be self explanatory so many

people don't.

I'd suggest get into the habit. May as well do it

right even if others are not.



How to alert

Pull out the black alert card and place it next
to the bid and say “alert”.

Do not say anything else or give any further
explanation unless asked by the opposition ( the
next person to bid or pass).



What to say if asked about the alert

The Laws of Bridge state: you must divulge “As much as
you can and as comprehensively as you can; simply to
state a convention is not acceptable”.

It's simpler than it sounds. Remember the opposition may
ask further questions to clarify the finer points so you
don’t have to rattle off screeds of details.

2C Stayman after an overcall: Partners has 8 or more points and
at least one four card major

2D response from opener - Partner does not have a four card
major

2D transfer — Partner is transferring me to hearts, any point
count.



What about when | forget our

system

Your partner bids and you have a Brain Fart. Did we agree to play
transfers or not? Gosh, | know | should know this...

You should alert the bid anyway.
Holy, Moly: The opposition asks "What does that mean?”

You can say something like:
Undiscussed OR
| know it's systematic but | cannot remember what it means

Don‘t say
I’'m not sure but | guess...

Be as honest as possible but these things happen. The director can
always be called. They will know what to do next.



How to alert —Oops 1

Oh dear, partner has forgotten to alert.

Poker face, no comment — you are not allowed to
say or do anything. Continue to bid as if your
partner has alerted and stick to your system.



How to alert — Oops 2

So, partner forgot to alert during the bidding
and now you (or they) have won the contract.

Before the lead card is exposed, either you or your
partner should pull out the black alert card and
place it next to the bid that was not alerted.
Remember the opposition may not want to know
so again do not say anything else unless asked.



How to alert —Oops 3

Or, partner forgot to alert during the bidding
and now you are on defence.

Poker face — you are still not allowed to say or do
anything.
If during or after the play the opposition feel they

have been adversely affected they may call the
director.



When to ask about the opposition’s

alerts

As keen as you guys and gals are to learn...
ASK if you have a reason.

e.g.1NT, 2D (alert). you have 5 hearts and were thinking about

overcalling. ASK. now you know opposition also has five hearts
so you will opt to pass instead.

DO NOT ask if you simply want to learn more about their
system. You are inadvertently helping them to get it right.

Remember

You have the right to ask after the bidding has been completed.
If you are on lead you can ask straight away

If your partner is on lead you must wait until they have selected

their lead and placed it face down on the table and then you may
ask



Interference = System Off

Interference = SYSTEM OFF (no exceptions).

Partner opened 1NT and you were planning to
oid 2H transfer to spades but opposition have
just overcalled 2H.

SYSTEM OFF!!!

You may now call 25 naturally if you have
enough points or pass with a big sigh of relief.



	Slide 1: Improvers Lessons
	Slide 2: Lesson 1 and 2 Update
	Slide 3: Simple Stayman – Alerting 
	Slide 4: Simple Stayman – Alerting 
	Slide 5: Transfers - Alerting
	Slide 6: Transfers – Huh?
	Slide 7: How to alert
	Slide 8: What to say if asked about the alert
	Slide 9: What about when  I forget our system
	Slide 10: How to alert – Oops  1
	Slide 11: How to alert – Oops 2
	Slide 12: How to alert – Oops 3
	Slide 13: When to ask about the opposition’s alerts
	Slide 14: Interference  = System Off

