Franklin Bridge Club Inc. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2023

Held at the clubrooms, Sunday 3 December 2023.

Present

President Linda Thornton, Glenda Allen, Ann Anderson, Henriette Annabel, Rolf Baettig, Yvonne Baettig, Dennise Biddick, Gerda Bouwman, John Bouwman, Jim Buckland, Judy Collins, Diane Conroy, Mary Crawford, Carol De Luca, Christine Egelmeer, Henk Egelmeer, Terry Evans Sr., Terry Evans Jr., Bron Fergusson, John Fergusson, Frances Gale, David Gardiner, Margaret Gardiner, Arie Geursen, Lynne Geursen, Christine Godding, Caroline Griffin, Kevin Griffin, Sue Helleur, Delwynne Homewood, Anthony Julia, Carol Moore, Dirk Mooy, Maureen Nelson, Neal Phlllips, Teresa Phillips, Trevor Robb, Wayne Rogers, Joan Rees, Gina Sangster, Sandra Sitton, Belinda Summerville, Jonathan Taylor, Jeremy Thomas, Mike Tod, Maggie Urlich, Margaret van der Coer, Heather Walden, Kay Wallbutton,, Dianne Whitelaw, Richard Whitelaw, Joan Wilson, Jane Winter, Nelda Wormald.

Apologies

Gayle Askew, Ken Craze, Madeline Dodds, Bev Donaldson, Paula Gilroy, Andrew Janisz, Grant Jarvis, Gary Logan, Tricia Logan, Susie Longdell, Jan Rae, Sharron Rusden, David Spencer, Sue Spencer, Mary Tarbitt.

Minutes of previous AGM

Held on Sunday,4th December 2022 had been previously circulated to all members. Moved Margaret Gardiner, seconded Caroline Griffin, that they be accepted. Carried. There were no matters arising from the 2022 minutes.

Treasurer's Report

Was presented to the meeting, along with the Financial Statements for the year to 30th September 2023. It was noted that, as in previous years, the financials will be audited following the AGM.

Moved Teresa Phillips, seconded Jim Buckland that this be accepted. Carried.

President's Report

Was presented to the meeting. It included a Resolution that:

The committee is authorised to spend up to \$50,000 to hire appropriate contractors to remove the textured ceiling coating in the club's building (because it contains asbestos), to repair the ceiling as required, including plastering and painting, and to update the ceiling light fixtures.

Moved Arie Geursen, seconded Judy Collins that this be so resolved. Carried unanimously by hand vote, no votes contra.

Presentation to Retiring Officers

President Linda Thornton made a tribute to each of the 3 officers retiring at this AGM — Caroline Griffin, John Fergusson and Nelda Wormald. She thanked each of them for their hard work and presented them with flowers. Each of the recipients made a short speech in reply, Anthony Julian and Gerda Bouwman spoke from the floor, praising John's work in presenting the lessons this year.

Election of Officers

Single nominations were received and accepted for the following

President Linda Thornton
Secretary Susie Longdell
Treasurer Teresa Green
Club Captain Terry Evans Jr.
Property Kevin Griffin

Tournament Secretary Bev Henton

Catering Neil Miller

Computer and IT Jonathan Taylor

Committee Arie Geursen, Henriette Annabel, Maureen Nelson

The positions of Vice President and Training and Development Manager were not filled.

Appointments

Honorary Auditor – Maureen Nelson Honorary Solicitor – Linda Thornton Patron of the Club – Lynne Geursen

General Business

Carol De Luca spoke from the floor, asking the committee to explore ways to dim the room, as she believed that the removal of the trees earlier this year had made the room very bright. Linda Thornton replied that this will be considered by the committee in conjunction with the asbestos removal project.

The business of the meeting was closed at 5.45pm, and followed by the annual prize-giving ceremony and a shared potluck meal.

Afterwards, 36 players (9 tables) of drawn pairs enjoyed some relaxed bridge.

Previous Year

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Franklin Bridge Club Inc.

Held at the clubrooms, Sunday 4th December 2022.

Present

Arie Geursen, Sue Spencer, David Spencer, Linda Thornton, Maria Casci, Chris Glyde, Bev Henton, Susie Longdell, Janet Hogan, Frank Hogan, Jonathan Taylor, Jim Buckland, Neil Miller, Caroline Griffin, Kevin Griffin, Maureen Nelson, Teresa Phillips, Neal Phillips, Nelda Wormald, Robert Brake, Christine Lyons, Trevor Robb, Heather Walden, Tracey Beattie, John Fergusson, Bron Fergusson, Margaret van der Coer, Wayne Rogers, Gina Sangster, Carol Moore, Barbara Lockyer, Carol De Luca, Henriette Annabel, Glenda Allen, Joan Wilson, Jane Winter, Paula Gilroy, Sue Helleur, Dennise Biddick, Ratilal Ranchhod, Delwynne Homewood, Bev Donaldson, Diane Conroy, Darren Old, Tricia Balle, Annette Black, Sandra Sitton, Belinda Summerville, Kay Wallbutton, Margaret Gardiner, David Gardiner, Judy Collins, Michael Tod, Gayle Askew, Roni Bistricer, Wendy Morris, Yvonne Baettig, Rolf Baettig.

Apologies

Gary Logan, Tricia Logan, Jan Rae.

Minutes of previous AGM

Held on Sunday, 5th December 2021. Moved Caroline Griffin, seconded Dennise Biddick, that they be accepted. Carried

Minutes of Special General Meeting

Held on Wednesday, 19th October 2022. Moved Caroline Griffin, seconded Jim Buckland, that they be accepted. Carried.

President's Report

Was presented to the meeting

Treasurer's Report

Was presented to the meeting, along with the Financial Statements for the year to 30th September 2022. It was noted that the club's auditor was away and that the financials will be audited on her return.

Election of Officers

Single Nominations were received and accepted for the following

President Neil Miller
Secretary Susie Longdell
Treasurer Teresa Green
Club Captain Caroline Griffin
Property Kevin Griffin
Training and Development John Fergusson

Tournament Secretary Bev Henton
Computer and IT Jonathan Taylor

Committee Arie Geursen, Henriette Annabel, Maureen Nelson

The position of Catering Manager was not filled.

Vice President was the only contested position.

Robert Brake was nominated by David Spencer, seconded by Judy Collins. Linda Thornton was nominated by Dennise Biddick, seconded by Kevin Griffin Both nominees addressed the meeting.

Chris Glyde and Jim Buckland were appointed scrutineers and a secret ballot was held. Linda Thornton was duly elected Vice President.

Moved Jim Buckland, seconded Maria Casci that the voting papers be destroyed. Carried.

Appointments

Honorary Auditor – Margaret Wilson. Arie Geursen/Jim Buckland Honorary Solicitor – Linda Thornton. Caroline Griffin/Susie Longdell

Recognition of Service

Maureen Nelson was thanked for her 7 years service as Treasurer, and Caroline Griffin was thanked for her 2 ½ years as President. Both were presented with flowers.

The business of the meeting was closed, and followed by the annual prizegiving ceremony.

Afterwards, 28 players (7 tables) of drawn pairs enjoyed some relaxed bridge.